Federal Government of Nigeria extends travel ban to South Africa

Further to the recent announcement imposing a travel ban on travellers arriving from Brazil, India and Turkey, the Federal Government of Nigeria (FGN) on 28 June 2021, extended the ban to travellers from South Africa.

The ban is a result of the reported increase in cases of COVID-19 in South Africa and will apply to all foreign passport holders and foreign nationals who have visited South Africa within fourteen (14) days preceding their trip to Nigeria.

However, foreign nationals holding a valid residence permit in Nigeria and Nigerian citizens are exempted from the ban. Notwithstanding the exemption, these travellers will be required to take a COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test within 24 hours of arrival in Nigeria and observe a 7-day quarantine within a government-approved facility at their own cost. The travellers will also take a repeat COVID-19 PCR test after the 7-day quarantine.

On a related note, the FGN has placed Zambia, Rwanda, Namibia and Uganda on a watchlist due to increasing COVID-19 cases. No travel ban has however been announced for travellers arriving from these countries.

For all other travellers into Nigeria, the validity period (72 hours) of the negative PCR test result required for boarding from their country of departure to Nigeria remains unchanged.

Companies are encouraged to ensure strict adherence to this new protocol in other to avoid disruption to their business activities, sanctions/penalties, and negative publicity.

Deloitte is available to provide additional clarification and support on this. Please reach out to ngtaxpartners@deloitte.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.