Federal Government of Nigeria announces suspension of Visa on Arrival

Federal Government of Nigeria announces suspension of Visa on Arrival

In the light of the recent Coronavirus disease (COVID- 19) outbreak, the Presidential Task Force on Coronavirus (PTF-COVID19), on 18 March 2020, through the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), announced:

  • The immediate suspension of Visa on Arrival (VoA) issuance for travellers from thirteen (13) countries specified below; and
  • An entry restriction order to travellers from these thirteen (13) countries – effective from Saturday, 21 March 2020;

These restrictions are meant to last for four weeks, subject to further review.

NCDC stated that the 13 countries affected by the suspension and restriction order have recorded over 1,000 cases of COVID-19 domestically. The countries are China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, United States of America, United Kingdom, Netherlands and Switzerland. We expect that this will extend to any other country which records over 1,000 COVID-19 cases while the restriction is pending.

NCDC further stated that all travellers returning to Nigeria from the aforementioned countries prior to the restriction would undergo supervised isolation for 14 days and be monitored by the NCDC and Port Health Services. 

This is a laudable move by the Federal Government to curb the import and spread of the deadly virus. We expect that PTF-COVID 19 will continue to review the restrictions depending on the spread and control of the virus. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.